The Daniel: A Rich History
Originally operated as the Captain Daniel Stone Inn, the hotel was acquired in 2013 by its current owners. After a redesign and renovation, the hotel has been transformed into Maine's newest lifestyle luxury hotel. The Daniel is a part of the Troca Hotels collection of global lifestyle hotels. Troca is derived from Portuguese and means passage, voyage, exchange, and transformation – emblematic of our mission to foster authentic and relevant exchange and connection between people from different places and cultures. The Daniel was designed to be a meeting place in Brunswick for interesting people from near and far.
The property and site both have a rich history. The site housed a log cabin built in 1628 by Thomas Purchase, the first European settler in Brunswick. Originally called by its Native American name, Pejepscot, meaning a river with long rocky rapids, Brunswick became a trading post between the Native Americans, Thomas Purchase and other English settlers. The property itself was originally built in Federal style in 1819, it has served in many roles during its nearly two hundred year history. It became a full-service hotel in the 1980s and operated as the Captain Daniel Stone Inn until 2013.
The Federal Style home attached to The Daniel was built for Captain Daniel Stone and his family in 1819. Captain Daniel Stone became a successful merchant after he retired from the U.S. Navy in the early 1800's. He and his wife, Nancy Hinckley, had two children, Narcissa and Daniel. The captain also served as a Brunswick Representative to the State Legislature.
Image: Circa 1920